Infrastructure New Zealand announces new Board

June 21, 2023


Infrastructure New Zealand has appointed four new directors to its Board this week. Susan Lucking, Fraser Robertson, Liam Hodgetts and Stacey Millar have joined the team.

Tracey Ryan was re-elected on the Board and appointed as Chair, with the retiring Chair, Margaret Devlin, remaining as Prior Chair as per the Constitution, as announced at last night’s AGM.

Susan leads BNZ’s Infrastructure, Energy, Utilities and Government sector strategies and relationship banking teams for BNZ’s largest clients in these sectors, and also leads BNZ’s Project Finance team that specialises in infrastructure, renewable energy and social & urban housing development. She has 14+ years of banking experience across various sectors, including Project Finance, Corporate Finance and Property Finance.

With a background in project financing of PPPs and other infrastructure and renewable energy projects, Susan is passionate about infrastructure and what it can deliver for NZ; enabling economic growth, increased productivity and wellbeing, and climate change mitigation. Susan also has a strong appreciation for the significant challenges that need to be overcome to enable the growth and address infrastructure resilience for future generations.

Fraser Robertson has spent more than two decades transforming landscapes in Aotearoa. His expertise encompasses complex public and private projects in the UK, Asia, and New Zealand.

As a long-standing member of Infrastructure New Zealand with deep knowledge of the infrastructure investment cycle, Fraser’s work exemplifies the organisation’s mission. He has long advocated for bipartisan long-term investment, aiming to decouple politics from decision-making and prioritise smart investment and efficient delivery.

In his role as RCP Infrastructure Director, Fraser applies his strategic and technical experience to shape delivery frameworks and create long-term solutions for clients. He is passionate about shifting the industry towards truly sustainable development – balancing economic, social and environmental outcomes.

Fraser is a well-respected sector contributor with experience and relationships that span the country and the full spectrum of stakeholders including local and central government, NGOs, private developers and contractors.

With his strategic focus, analytical approach, and people-centric leadership, Fraser’s commitment to advancing Infrastructure New Zealand’s mission makes him an exceptional addition who will bring a truly independent and strategic perspective to helping shape the future of the industry.

Liam has over 26 years’ experience in Local Government and 18 years in senior and executive roles in Australia and New Zealand. A large part of his career has been spent planning for growth, including the planning, funding and delivery of transport and social infrastructure. Liam has executive experience in corporate planning and governance, communications, economic development and business transformation.

Liam has past board experience with, ‘East Taranaki Environment Collective’ and is a current member of the National Transition Units 3 Waters Growth Steering Group and member of the Development Advisory Board ‘Kawe Pukenga’ for the Parihaka Papakainga Trust. Liam hopes to bring local government experience and deep insights to the board from a strategic and operational level, particularly into the current legislative reform environment (RMA, 3 Waters and Local Government) and how those reforms might impact local government infrastructure funding and provision.

Stacey has held executive responsibility for strategy at the Hynds Group for the past five years. Her remit touches on market positioning and performance, business transformation and strategic investments. Stacey came to this role from a background in major civil projects with engineering experience in tendering, design and construction having worked for several NZ constructors.

Stacey also served as the Auckland WIN Chapter Chair prior to then joining the INZ Diversity Advisory Board in 2022, leaving her well-placed to connect the Board with opportunities to develop both the WIN and TIC Networks.

Our new Infrastructure New Zealand Chair, Tracey Ryan, welcomed the new members by saying, “I am looking forward to taking up the Chair role and continuing to work with the Infrastructure New Zealand Board and our new members. I’d like to welcome Susan, Fraser, Liam and Stacey to the Board. Their extensive backgrounds complement our team and will provide valuable knowledge and strategic direction as we continue to work on our advocacy initiatives and broader work programme. I’d also like to acknowledge Margaret for all her hard work as Chair over the past two years, the Board has appreciated her dedication to the role and her focus on diversity in our sector.”

On behalf of Infrastructure New Zealand, outgoing Chair, Margaret Devlin, also thanked Karen West who retires from the Board this week after five years of dedicated service. Karen provided a brief statement for attendees at the AGM, “being so closely involved across the infrastructure sector during such a significant and at times, tough, chapter for everyone, has been an amazing opportunity, as well as an absolute privilege. I feel very fortunate to have met some incredible people and to have participated in a variety of excellent and stimulating discussions, events, and delegations.

So, it’s pleasing to leave the Board knowing that INZ is in good shape and well-positioned for the future, whatever that may bring.”